Asset Publisher

Home - Welcome - Text

What is GLOBE Observer?

  • A citizen science app allowing volunteers in GLOBE countries to take observations and contribute to the Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) community
  • A way to collect data to track changes in the environment in support of Earth system science research, and interpret NASA and other satellite data
  • An open data set available to scientists, and supporting students of all ages in doing real scientific research through the GLOBE Program

Download the app and follow the instructions to get started. Always follow guidelines from your local officials, and only participate in GLOBE activities or use the GLOBE Observer app if it is safe to do so.

Home - Welcome - Video

What are GLOBE Observers up to?

View the clouds data on eclipse day.
A map showing North America with circle representing cloud cover reports.

Latest Observer Data

Observer Home Now

GLOBE Observer Now

Asset Publisher

A photo of people gathered on the bow of a tour expedition ship in Antarctica. Courtesy Allison Cusick.
Four researchers in a forest surrounded by a collection of research equipment.
A drawing showing an eclipse Sun in a clear blue sky over a green hills. A river on the left side of the image reflects the eclipsed Sun.

Asset Publisher

A group of three students and a professor stand around a large carrying case and an instrument on a tripod. One student is typing on a laptop that is on top of the case. The group is in a forest.
Text reading
An artistic drawing of a tree with satellite data showing Japan and China in the background. Overlaying text reads: The GLOBE Program, Trees Around the GLOBE Student Research Campaign. The State of Trees – May 2024. Live from Japan at the 2024 Japan Geoscience Union Meeting (JpGU): Revisiting the Water-Land-Tree Boundary and the “2023 Where is the Water Challenge,” through the use of NASA Datasets and NASA Wordview. Tuesday, May 28, 2024, 3:00 pm Japan Time (2:00 am EDT, 6:00 UTC, 8:00 CEST). Rebroadcast on Tuesday, May 28, 2024, 1:00 pm EDT (17:00 UTC, 7:00 pm CEST)

Asset Publisher

A girl and her grandma sitting next to each other in front of a fountain, smiling. It's a sunny day with some clouds.